About Us

Deanery Roles

The parishes of our deanery are each served by clergy, churchwardens, parochial church council members, volunteers and others who give their time and talents to support the mission of our 38 churches within the deanery.  

The Rev’d Dr. Tess Kuin Lawton, Area Dean of Witney

The Area Dean is an officer of the Bishop who has a particular pastoral role in supporting the clergy.  The Area Dean has particular responsibilities for parish churches which are in vacancy.  The Area Dean also chairs the Chapter for priests and licensed ministers and jointly chairs the Deanery Synod and its Standing Committee.

Kirsty Morgan, Lay Chair is elected by the House of Laity of the Deanery Synod as joint chair, serving alongside the Area Dean.  The Lay Chair is the senior lay representative within the deanery and works closely with the Area Dean, Assistant Area Dean, Archdeacon and Bishop.    K

The Rev’d Simon Kirby, Assistant Area Dean is appointed by the Area Dean. He has particular responsibilities for Church Growth, Missional Communities and Planting/Grafting.

The Rev’d Margaret Dixon, Assistant Area Dean is appointed by the Area Dean.  She has particular pastoral responsibilities and coordination of PTO’s.

Mr David Eaton, The Deanery Treasurer, is the elected financial representative of the Deanery Synod, with a role in grants and the Parish Share.

 Area Dean’s PA, conducts the deanery administration and is also the elected secretary to the House of Laity of the Deanery Synod, and to the Standing Committee and Pastoral Committee.